Author Topic: Bot River Estuary frustration  (Read 9088 times)

Offline pawn

• Cred: 0
Bot River Estuary frustration
« on: March 07, 2011, 03:26:57 PM »
 :cnfzd

I am a bit of a newbie to the fishing world and find that as in business the "secrets" are hard to come by. We have accuired a place on the Bot River Estuary and have tried fishing diffrent times and tides, all to no avail. I have spoken to the locals and they tell me I am waisting my time. All we get is Gournards, striepies and every now and then a harder. Where does one find a fish of any decent size in the estuary? We have tried all types of bait all types of synthetic lures all with little success. The best option at a point was prawn but when the water rose the prawn banks vanished. How would one find a decent fish????? Is the fishing from the beach at the mouth any good???

Offline WalkersKiller

• Fish The Sea | Fish The Fly | Gareth Roocroft
  • Cred: 365
  • Conservation First!
Re: Bot River Estuary frustration
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2011, 03:44:21 PM »
 :welc: Pawn, I dont know anything about that river unfortunately but all I know is that perseverance pays off... Use natural baits and smaller hooks and keep moving along until you get bites... Once you find the bait fish you will find the bigger fish... I find it hard to believe that there are only Gurnard, Strepei and Harder in the estuary... The locals might be unwilling to share their spots with you... If those fish occur there are bound to be predatory fish around and the prawn banks should be home to some Grunter and Steenbras at high tide... Trying the river mouth could be a good option, all sorts of fish swim in and out of the rivers during the pushing tide... Hope that helps  :sml:

:tite

Offline SAfish

• Angler of the Month - April 2015
  • Ultimate Hero
  • Cred: 137
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2011, 08:11:19 PM »
Pawn, I also don't know that area and I second the advice that WK gave you.