Author Topic: The magic loop  (Read 2512 times)

hammertime

The magic loop
« on: July 13, 2010, 09:16:41 PM »
                        The magic loop.

At the slipway the other day I was asked what I was doing to  my line by a guy who was anchored close to us.

You always seem to have a damn fish on your bait lines yet  you never hold the line or strike.
You do something to the line once youíve thrown the bait in  and turn away.

Whatís the storey?

Not a bad observation I thought and perhaps a simple trick  that I had got so accustomed to doing but maybe a couple of guys donít know  about this one.

I am NOT a pro handline fisherman, I prefer the rod but for  snoek (and thatís the sum total of what we have here right now) itís effective,  bloody fun and with the serious seal problem we have right now, the most cost  effective and sure way of getting a fish out without throwing away spinner after  spinner to seals. In 3 trips weíve donated 22 spinners to seals at R25 a pop.  Excluding leaders and the braid that snaps on the straight stick. Yup, light  tackle snoeking right now is just a hole in the wallet.

Yo-yoís or haspers as the Capies call em have a groove cut  into the side to stop line from spilling out once itís been thrown into the  water.
I then tie the line onto something else on the boat, as well  fasten the yo-yo. The yo-yo I normally fasten to the rod clips we have on the  holder, the ones used to prevent rods from flying overboard.
Be surprised how many times you undo the line knot to let  out more line and the unfastened yo-yo goes overboard with the extra line.

Yo-yo with cut

Now here is my trick. I use it on kob, geelbeck and  yellowtail. I use it on chokka too. Never had a line snap, but you have to be  quick. This method allows you to work a spinner, cut bait or help a lightie  break a fish neck or untangle etc, whilst ensuring you donít miss the bite.