Author
Topic: Bottom fishing weights Richards bay  (Read 675 times)

Offline Hendrik

• Cred: 0
Bottom fishing weights Richards bay
« on: January 21, 2019, 12:37:59 pm »
I am a newbie. I did my category E licence last year and are currently looking to buy a small boat for the bay and 1 mile offshore. I am mostly going to do bottom fishing and would like to know what size weights and hook sizes I must get to do bottom fishing with for the distance I can go.

Offline colin

• Ultimate Champ
  • Cred: 13
Re: Bottom fishing weights Richards bay
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2019, 01:42:02 pm »
 :welc: Hendrik , lotsa guys on this forum fish :fshn: :fshn: :fshn:  your area , am sure they will help . :uarocks    :toppie:
My wife allows me to keep all the fishing tackle I can hide.

Offline nabeel6061

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2019, 03:23:03 pm »
Not sure on the exact weights you require..
But I've noticed that many of the local charters here use pieces of rebar (Y32 for eg) with a single or half a chain-link welded to the top. They say it's a much much cheaper and if you're broken off on a reef, you know it will rust away and not be a permanent feature on the reef.

Offline shu vawda

• Cred: 1
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2019, 04:20:39 pm »
Welcome to ultimate angling.with a category e licence you will not be fishing deep(generally).for this a 16ounce sinker should surfice.For traces it will depend what you will be targeting.In the winter months out off richards bay you can target daga's.search the forum and you will find traces for the different target species.

a genral bottom trace will consist of the following:

- i like to use a 50cm sinker snoot attached to a 3 way swivel.
- on to the same 3 way swivel, a 30cm hook snoot with a bigger hook(6/0 to 9/0)
- repeat the process above attaching as many hooks that you would like but going smaller on the hooks(2/0 to 4/0)

Hope this helps.

Offline emjay

• Cred: 16
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2019, 01:43:52 pm »