Author Topic: Total Novice  (Read 313 times)

Online SurfnTurf

• Cred: 0
Total Novice
« on: November 04, 2018, 07:43:31 pm »
Hello awesome people!

So I've decided to take a plunge into the world of fishing, being well aware that I know absolutely nothing.

Short background: My family are not really the social, outdoorsy type, not sure where I fell of the wagon... Business graduate, ecology student and a hunting & outdoor nut. I spend as much time hunting or hiking as I can, recently came to my attention (thanks to my ladyfriend) that I'm missing out not being part of the rod and reel family, so I'm hoping you guys can possibly help us out with advice or suggestions?

We currently live in pretoria, so freshwater is definitely the main focus. I was looking at buying a basic set up and learning through experience, but I don't even know where to start...

I'm going to keep reading up about our watersystems and river ecology, but that will come with time.

I'm hoping to do a bit of bait and lure fishing, so a rod for each of us for each dicipline was our original aim. Beyond that I have no idea what works in RSA waters. I have read a huge amount about bass fishing in the US, but theory only gets you so and I doubt that info will be too applicable here.

I know we have grass carp and various barbel species, as well as bass and a few trout, but what else do anglers usually target?

Lastly, I've read stuff here on the forum and on others regarding what a newbie needs, but any more advice would be appreciated. My start up budget is R2.5k, if that helps?

Excited to learn! TIA

Offline Searaider

• Ultimate member
  • Cred: 37
Re: Total Novice
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2018, 09:38:09 pm »
 :welc:

Offline brucec

• Who Dares Wins
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2018, 07:46:10 am »
 :welc: I suggest you visit All Out Angling in Centurion: 012 653 4294. A bunch of really helpfull guys who will assist you.

Offline CRANKMAN

• Ultimate member
  • Cred: 50