Author
Topic: Micro Fishing - Mosquito Fish Rig  (Read 6106 times)

Offline kaptein delarey

• The Erratic Jerk
  • Cred: 23
Micro Fishing - Mosquito Fish Rig
« on: May 30, 2013, 02:07:31 pm »
MOSQUITO FISH RIG

I've been fishing my whole life, but have only fished artlure, and for micros, for the last 2 years - so don't take everything I say as law, I'm no expert, yet. Happy reading!

THE TACKLE & GEAR:

HOOK:

My hook of choice is an Owner "New Half Moon" tanago hook, used by the Japanese to catch the smallest imaginable bitterling. The #32 hooks (difficult to get your hands on) more commonly used by artlure guys to catch mosquito fish, are very successful, but were designed to fish with tiny flies/lures/bait for bigger fish.

On the other hand, tanago hooks are designed specifically for catching micro fish with micro baits on micro gear - so it makes more sense to me to use them.

The tanago hooks have a smaller gape, are shorter from bend to tip, and have a slightly longer shank than J-shaped micro hooks. Fish don't need to take the whole hook in their mouths, but only the tip, so hookups are easier.

The 'functional' part of the hook is basically just the bottom-third of the hook body. The longer shank makes hook removal easier, and the spade end (no eye on these hooks!) is needed to snell the hook to the line you're using.

As mentioned, these micro hooks have no eyes to tie your line to, so the need to be snelled. You either need a high level of dexterity (and patience) to tie them by hand, or one of these tools. There are a couple of brands available from certain shops, but I use a Stonfo hook tier that works great.

I'm not going to try and explain the tying process - I'll rather let this picture and YouTube video, speak a thousand words.

Rather than 5 turns, as illustrated above, I prefer to make 7 - 9 turns around the hook with the thin tippet line.

Hook tier instruction video on YouTube

LURE: