Warning: Zend OPcache API is restricted by "restrict_api" configuration directive in /usr/www/users/ultimaqz/Sources/Load.php on line 2827 Tiger Rod Setup?

Author Topic: Tiger Rod Setup?  (Read 11339 times)

Offline marshy

• Cred: 0
Tiger Rod Setup?
« on: October 13, 2017, 04:42:21 PM »
Hi all!

Needing some advice from those in the know. I'm looking to head up to Zambia and take part in some Tiger fishing, and looking to build a setup. I'm by no means a pro angler and still very much consider myself an amateur. I'll probably be looking to use the setup 5+ times a year, and I'm a believer in buy once, cry once.

After scouring the net, I've come across the following suggestions, and looking for forum member input on the following options

Rod
  • Shimano Beastmaster Special Tiger (7ft)
  • Shimano Crucial (7ft) Medium-heavy
Reel
  • Shimano Stella 4000 / 5000
  • Shimano TwinPower 4000 / 5000
  • Shimano Sustain??

Tackle wise, I see braid is the only way to go, with suggestions of 50lb needed for the beasts in Zambia? And as for lures and spoons, Effzet and Storm Copper Spoons in 22-30gr and Rapala's (Floating Magnum, DT's, CD's, X-Rap Walk) as well as the Zara Spook...the options seem endless!  :nuts:
The one thing that's always mentioned is the upgrade of split rings on the lures and spoons, and changing out the treble's for single in-lines?

So....back to the rod setup!

Which rod will suit my needs best, and work in a pinch for other estuary fishing? Would the beastmaster work in the sea in a pinch?

And then, more importantly (read financially...) which real?? I believe that the Stella is basically the benchmark, and have seen some reviews saying that the twin power isn't necessarily worth the money? What about the sustain? From what I'm managed to read, the most important factors are a very smooth drag, and a real that can offer some real drag poundage (correct term?)